Microsoft Certification Courses For IT Professionals

Published: 28th November 2016
Views: N/A

Microsoft certifications are information technology professional certifications. Individual certifications are received upon passing one or more exams. Assessments usually take between two and three hours and consist of multiple choice and solution building questions in which students must perform certain administrative tasks. This article will examine the three major tiers of Microsoft certification courses, which are: Microsoft Certified Solutions Associate (MCSA), Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert (MCSE), and Microsoft Certified Solutions Developer (MCSD).

Microsoft Certified Solution Associate (MCSA)

The Microsoft Certified Solutions Associate (MCSA) program is a certification intended for people who seek entry level jobs in an information technology environment. MCSA is a prerequisite for most of the more advanced Microsoft certifications.

Students can select to specialize in Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2012, SQL Server 2012, Windows 7, or Windows 8. In preparation for the exam, students can take courses at a certified training company location (including in a high school or college), online at Microsoft's self study website, or through studying certified training materials. Students who feel ill-equipped can acquire the more basic Microsoft Technology Associate (MTA) certification first.

Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert (MCSE)

Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert (MCSE) certifications are fashioned for technology specialists who want to be on the forefront of a corporate cyber journey. This certification integrates cloud related and onsite skills in order to support organizations.

Having this certificate validates that an individual has the skills needed to run a highly efficient data center, with expertise in system management, virtualization, and networking. Earning this certificate qualifies the applicant for positions such as a computer support specialist or an information security analyst.

Current certification paths include server infrastructure, desktop infrastructure, private cloud, data platform, business intelligence, messaging, communication, and SharePoint. Including MCSA pre-requisites, MCSE candidates take five exams to earn that credential. This specific certification requires continued ability to perform by completing a recertification exam every three years.

Microsoft Certified Solutions Developer (MCSD)

The Microsoft Certified Solutions Developer (MCSD) certifications validate an individual's ability to build and design solutions that extend well beyond traditional platform boundaries. This specific certification is designed for professionals who develop cutting edge business solutions using Microsoft tools, platforms, and technologies.

Currently available MCSD certifications are Windows store applications, web applications, SharePoint applications, and application lifecycle management. There are a total of five exams to qualify for a MCSD certification. Qualification holders of this certificate must adhere to a recertification exam once every two years.

Additional Certifications

There are a few other certifications available to MCSA certificate holders. All of the options require additional training, however this may be what certain individuals wish to pursue.

The first option is for individuals who would like to demonstrate their expertise with a particular Microsoft product. Microsoft Certified Product Specialists (MCPS) have demonstrated in-depth knowledge of at least one Microsoft operating system. Candidates may pass additional Microsoft certification exams to further qualify their skills.

The second option, Microsoft Certified Trainers (MCTs), is for the premier technical and instructional experts in Microsoft technologies. This group of Microsoft technical training professionals reap the benefits of training certification and program membership.

The many Microsoft certification courses available make the choice a difficult one. In the end, it is up to the individual to decide which path to pursue. Hopefully this article helps explain the available options.


Knowledge Center(KCI) is a computer training school with computer training facilites based in Ashburn, VA. KCI is a leading provider of hands on classroom IT training courses.Certification courses include CompTIA, Cisco, ITIL, CISSP and Microsoft certfication courses.

Report this article Ask About This Article

More to Explore